Data Collection: Snowy & Icy Roads

0319144421

There is no better way to describe what my data collection experience has been so far. As schools in the Midwestern state experienced unexpected number of snow days, I feel as if data collection has snow days too. Not just as a physical obstacle in the form of weather conditions when I have to cancel my interview appointments or the school is closed because of the snow day. But also emotionally and mentally, the experience has been snowy and icy. Times when I see clear roads of thoughts and a sudden gusty wind blows snow over them; Times when I feel satisfied with the data I’m collecting and then white snowy serpents of doubt, fear of not getting enough, crawl in to my mind and vanish, blurring my thought process; Times when mind blocks sway my thoughts away; Times when I feel positive about interviews I’m conducting, just as the rays of sunlight come out tearing thick dark clouds; Times when those interviews do not make sense and I think “seriously this is what I have!”; Times when I think of missed opportunities as the black ice that I can’t see but sure to trip over.
Yet, in low to no visibility at times, a smile appears when I remember Angie’s words, “You have a great study lined up!”

Leave a Reply

